Bringing back the carbs!

I’ve been playing with keto these past few weeks. Usually I’ll stay on a ketogenic meal plan for four to five days and then end up feeling really carb-depleted and eat ALL THE CARBS. In order to give myself more of a balanced approach and make sure I have a steady stream of energy, I’m going to play with carb cycling. I loved the way keto helped me lessen my sugar cravings, but it’s not sustainable for me right now and I need to make sure I’m doing well in school, not trying to fight through a major keto flu.

I’ll still stay lower carb, just because I feel pretty good when the majority of my carbohydrates come from vegetables (read: easier to resist the candy section when I cut sugar out for a few days). I’m looking forward to bringing back the protein, as keto is only moderate protein, very high fat. Definitely keeping the coconut oil in my coffee every morning because that keeps my appetite down and it tastes delicious. Also keeping the ridiculous amount of broccoli I eat, because that’s also delicious.

Today also marks my first successful batch of protein muffins. I’m usually not allowed to bake without supervision, for good reason. I drop spoons in blenders, break spatulas in blenders, leave things in the oven while I shower, and melt butter all over the microwave. I also don’t measure a thing. I’m much better at cooking, because you can throw things in as you wish. I used this recipe from Carolyn at All Day I Dream About Food, with a few modifications.

  • 1 cup instead of 2/3 cup whey protein isolate (Vanilla Cake Protizyme)
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil instead of butter
  • 1 cup instead of 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 4.5 ounces Muscle Egg Chocolate Caramel Egg Whites instead of eggs
  • omitted the Swerve and the chocolate chips because I don’t have those on hand

    Makes 15...I think.

    Makes 15…I think.

For the first time in my life, I didn’t end up with a batch of hockey pucks. I don’t expect that to ever happen again…anyway. They are quite dense, a little dry, but all in all, pretty tasty. I’ll keep playing with recipes until I figure out how to actually bake with protein powder. Until then, progress, not perfection? I still need to run the macros on them, if they last long enough for me to do that. I mean, they have chocolate in them. Willpower? Good luck.

 

Leave a Reply

